ILP- Week 1 of Cooking

For my first week of learning how to cook, I did mostly researching for different recipes and talking to my mom about family recipes and what things we could make together when I am home.

I have little to no experience when it comes to cooking because my parents have always cooked for me. (Lucky I know!)

I have only cooked one meal, Thanksgiving of 2017, and my mom helped me with most of it. My parents are divorced, so my siblings and I spent thanksgiving with my dad this last year. My mom and my step dad are the ones who have always cooked for us kids, and we normally spend thanksgiving with my dad’s family in Colorado and my grandpa cooks the meal. So the pressure was on for me to cook for my siblings and my dad. It wasn’t the best thanksgiving meal I’ve ever had, but I wouldn’t say I failed.

That being my only passed experience with cooking, I decided to do more research this week than hands-on work.

I have a pinterest board dedicated to foods that I want to cook, so I looked deeper into these dishes.

While I was looking throw recipes and saving them to my board, I told my roommate that next week I am going to try to cook something for this project and let her pick out what she wanted me to make. She picked spaghetti, so I searched for a saved a few recipes for this dish. I saved a recipe for home made sauce, garlic noodles, a baked spaghetti, and a few others. I will probably pick the easiest recipe to start out with, but I am excited to do this! I have never made a pasta dish before, besides simple Marconi and cheese out of a box (which is still my favorite).

I also am possibly going to Greeley, Colorado next weekend to visit my dad, so I have been talking to my mom about trying a family recipe out to bring to him! Next week, I will document my progress and take pictures!

I have thoroughly enjoyed looking up recipes and talking about them with my roommate and my mom! I am so nervous but also excited to start actually cooking for this project and see how my friends and family react to my first attempts of cooking.

5 thoughts on “ILP- Week 1 of Cooking

  1. I am so happy to see that you are referring to Pinterest for your cooking journey! I use Pinterest for just about anything and everything in life, and you can find some amazing things on there! I am with you on the box mac and cheese, it’s definitely a favorite! It seems like you have a really good start, and I cannot wait to see what you come up with!

    Like

  2. Tatum,
    I also have always had my parents cook for me, so I’m in the same boat with you! I tend to stick to mac-n-cheese out of the box as well. Pastas are kind of my specialty since they don’t require too much. I think you’ll really enjoy it especially when others like your dish as well.
    Madison Seamann

    Like

  3. Family recipes should be the beacon of real cooking, and I am glad to see you starting with that. Of course, talking with mom always helps too! Hey, maybe try some of those recipes from that cool “Tasty” app.

    Like

Leave a comment