ILP- work in progress

This week for my cooking ILP I made mine and my friends’ favorite (not so healthy) dish! Cheesy potatoes! These would be absolutely perfect for a side dish to something like steak, or a cheese burger, or to bring to an event like a pot luck or something like that, but me and my friends just make it by itself usually because we like it that much!

We of course found the recipe on the holy grail, Pintrest!

Ingredients:

2 pound bag of frozen hash browns

1 can of cream of chicken soup

1 cup of sour cream

1 stick of butter

2 cups of grated cheddar cheese

1 cup of corn flakes

You could probably change the measurements of the ingredients, depending on how much you are making, but we always follow this exact recipe and it feeds five of us multiple servings, so it is definitely a bigger dish that could easily for for a pot luck!

It takes about 10 minutes to get everything together and mixed up, and it takes around 35 minutes to cook at 350 degrees Fahrenheit. So all together it takes about 45 minutes to make.

We have made this so many times so it wasn’t really a struggle at all for me to cook this.

The first time that I made this I didn’t cook it long enough so the hash browns were a little too soft and it fell apart very easily. I tend to like dishes like this to be on the crunchier side though, so depending on how you like dishes like this, depends on how long you want to cook it for. I like to cook it for a little longer than 35 minutes to get the corn flake topping to be extra crunchy. I also think it is better with a little bit of salt and a decent amount of pepper, but I put salt and pepper on just about anything, and it is completely perfect without it! I would definitely recommend anyone and everyone to try this dish if it sounds like something you would like, but who doesn’t like cheesy potatoes?

I have found that like I predicted when picking this ILP, that cooking with friends and family is so much fun and is a great way to bond with someone. Food is the way to the heart!

Leave a comment